PAPERBACK

CATEGORY: Teens

ISBN: 978-1-61620-636-9

LIST PRICE: $9.95

HARDCOVER

CATEGORY: Teens

PAGES: 304

TRIM SIZE: 5.5 X 8.25

ISBN: 978-1-61620-354-2

LIST PRICE: $17.95

E-book

CATEGORY: Teens

PAGES: 304

ISBN: 978-1-61620-553-9

LIST PRICE: $9.95

Overview

A New York Times Bestseller

In the highly anticipated sequel to the acclaimed Jackaby, Abigail Rook and Sherlockian detective of the supernatural R.F. Jackaby are back and on the trail of a thief, a monster, and a murderer.

In 1892, New Fiddleham, New England, things are never quite what they seem, especially when Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer R.F. Jackaby are called upon to investigate the supernatural.

First, members of a particularly vicious species of shape-shifters disguise themselves as a litter of kittens. A day later, their owner is found murdered, with a single mysterious puncture wound to her neck. Then, in nearby Gad’s Valley, dinosaur bones from a recent dig go missing, and an unidentifiable beast attacks animals and people, leaving their mangled bodies behind. Policeman Charlie Cane, exiled from New Fiddleham to the valley, calls on Abigail for help, and soon Abigail and Jackaby are on the hunt for a thief, a monster, and a murderer.

Beastly Bones, the second installment in the series, delivers the same quirky humor and unforgettable characters as Jackaby, the book the Chicago Tribune called “Sherlock Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer.”

A 2016 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Title

Praise

"Fast-paced and full of intrigue."
- EW.com

"It’s a little bit Buffy the Vampire Slayer, a little bit Sherlock Holmes, a little bit Downton Abbey and a little bit Grimm. Throw in a werewolf, a ghost, a former assistant who’s now a duck, and a seriously ugly hat and Abigail finds herself with a little more than she bargained for, but loving every minute of it."
- Parade.com

"With tension as taut as a high wire, this series blends laugh-out-loud humor and ghastly horror with supernatural skill. You don’t have to read the first book to enjoy this one, but we highly recommend it because reading the series is straight-up fun. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Grimm and Sherlock Holmes."
- Justine Magazine

Meet the Author

William Ritter began writing Jackaby in the middle of the night when his son was still an infant. After getting up to care for him, Will would lie awake, his mind creating rich worlds and fantasies—such as the one in New Fiddleham. Will lives and teaches in Springfield, Oregon. Beastly Bones is his second novel.