PAPERBACK

CATEGORY: Children

PAGES: 304

TRIM SIZE: 5.5 X 8.25

ISBN: 978-1-61620-587-4

LIST PRICE: $7.95

HARDCOVER

CATEGORY: Children

PAGES: 304

TRIM SIZE: 5.5 X 8.25

ISBN: 978-1-61620-359-7

LIST PRICE: $16.95

E-book

CATEGORY: Children

ISBN: 978-1-61620-487-7

LIST PRICE: $7.95

Overview

From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the thrilling and suspenseful story of an ordinary American family who fall under suspicion.


It’s 1951, and twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid in Brooklyn, New York, who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas. But when an FBI agent shows up at Pete’s doorstep, accusing Pete’s father of being a Communist, Pete is caught in a real-life mystery. Could there really be Commies in Pete’s family? As Pete follows the quickly accumulating clues, he begins to wonder if the truth could put his family’s livelihood—and even their freedom—at risk.

In the tradition of Who Was That Masked Man, Anyway?, Don’t You Know There’s a War On?, and Nothing But the Truth, Catch You Later, Traitor tells a funny, insightful story packed with realistic period detail of a boy in mid-twentieth-century America whose family is caught in the wide net of America’s Red Scare.

A 2015 Edgar Award Nominee for Best Middle Grade

Praise

"Suspenseful . . . Authentic period details—such as popular radio programs and the ongoing rivalry between the Dodgers and the Giants—add a colorful backdrop to Pete’s quest as he navigates the murky gray area between truth and fiction. An excellent introduction to the frenzy of the McCarthy era."
- Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Avi, a master of historical fiction, vividly recreates not only the neighborhoods and pop culture of period Brooklyn, but the runaway paranoia that dominated daily life in the early years of the Cold War. With each clue Pete uncovers, the tension picks up, engaging readers in solving the dual mystery of his father’s past and identifying his accuser whose name is kept a well-concealed surprise until the last moment. . . As a mystery, historical fiction, and love letter to 1950s Brooklyn, this novel succeeds on every level."
- School Library Journal, starred review

"An involving, twisty mystery, grounded by the palpable emotional threat of Pete’s father being taken away. An accomplished historical mystery by one of kid lit’s most reliable craftspeople."
- Booklist

Meet the Author

Photo Credit: Katherine Warde

Avi is the author of the Newbery Medal novel Crispin: The Cross of Lead and the Newbery Honor books Nothing But the Truth and The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, among many other books for young readers. Catch You Later, Traitor was inspired by his own childhood in Brooklyn during the Red Scare. He now lives in Clark, Colorado, and his website is www.avi-writer.com.

Read an Excerpt