Educator Resources

  • Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel

    by Sara Farizan

    High-school junior Leila has made it most of the way through Armstead Academy without having a crush on anyone, which is something of a relief. Her Persian heritage already makes her different from her classmates; if word got out that she liked girls, life would be twice as hard. But when a sophisticated, beautiful new girl, Saskia, shows up, Leila starts to take risks she never thought she would, especially when it looks as if the attraction between them is mutual. 

    Category: Teens • Ages 14+ • Grades 9+

    MORE INFO
  • The Art of Secrets

    by James Klise

    When Saba Khan’s apartment burns in a mysterious fire, her high school rallies around her. But then a quirky piece of art donated to a school fund-raising effort for the Khans is revealed to be worth a fortune and Saba’s life quickly turns upside down again. Greed, jealousy, and suspicion create an increasingly tangled web as adults and teens alike debate who should get the money and begin to question one another’s motives and make accusations. 

    Category: Teens • Ages 12+ • Grades 7+

    MORE INFO
  • The Summer of Letting Go

    by Gae Polisner

    Four years ago, Francesca’s little brother, Simon, drowned, and Francesca’s the one who should have been watching. Now Francesca is about to turn sixteen, but guilt keeps her stuck in the past. Then she meets four-year-old Frankie Sky, a little boy who bears an almost eerie resemblance to Simon. Is it possible he’s Simon’s reincarnation?

    Category: Teens • Ages 12+ • Grades 7+

    MORE INFO
  • The One Safe Place

    by Tania Unsworth

    In a near-future dystopia with echoes of The Giver and Among the Hidden, Tania Unsworth has created an unsettling page-turner—fast-paced, filled with dread—that’s wholly satisfying, and startlingly original.

    For more information about author school and library visits, click here

    Category: Children • Ages 10+ • Grades 5+

    MORE INFO
  • Leaving China: An Artist Paints His World War II Childhood

    by James McMullan

    In a unique memoir comprising more than fifty watercolor paintings and accompanying text, award-winning artist and New York Times bestselling author James McMullan explores how his early childhood in China and wartime journeys with his mother influenced his whole life, especially his artwork. 

    Category: Teens • Ages 12+ • Grades 7+

    MORE INFO
  • Three-Ring Rascals #2: The Greatest Star On Earth

    by Kate Klise
    Illustrated by M. Sarah Klise

    The rascals from the world’s friendliest family circus are back in the second installment of the new illustrated series that Kirkus Reviews calls “smafunderful (smart + fun + wonderful).”

    For information about author/illustrator school and library visits, click here.

    Category: Children • Ages 7-10 • Grades 2-5

    MORE INFO
  • The Time Fetch

    by Amy Herrick

    A middle-grade fantasy in the vein of A Wrinkle in Time and When You Reach Me, Amy Herrick’s story begins when Edward picks up what he thinks is a rock—but is really a Time Fetch—and causes a dangerous time rip. Only Edward and a band of three mismatched classmates who have touched the Fetch can see what is happening, so it’s up to them to repair the entire fabric of space and time.

    Category: Children • Ages 10+ • Grades 5+

    MORE INFO
  • Somebody Up There Hates You

    by Hollis Seamon

    Richie is a normal seventeen-year-old—except he’s in hospice care. The end of his story is clear, but the people who love Richie want to keep him alive as long as possible. Richie wants to live as much as he can till the end. Oh, and there’s a fifteen-year-old girl named Sylvie across the hall. Somebody Up There Hates You is smart, funny, painful, and bawdy—with no holds barred.

    Category: Teens • Ages 14+ • Grades 9+

    MORE INFO
  • If You Could Be Mine

    by Sara Farizan

    In Iran, it’s a crime punishable by death to be gay. Sex reassignment surgery is covered by the government health program, though, and regarded by many as a way to fix a “mistake.” Sahar, seventeen, has been in love with her best friend, a girl named Nasrin, since they were six. Sahar even lets herself dream that one day they might marry. But when Nasrin’s parents announce her arranged marriage will take place in a matter of months, Sahar must decide just what lengths she’ll go to for true love.

    Category: Teens • Ages 14+ • Grades 9+

    MORE INFO
  • Three-Ring Rascals #1: The Show Must Go On!

    by Kate Klise
    Illustrated by M. Sarah Klise

    Three-Ring Rascals is the first series for newly independent readers from Kate and M. Sarah Klise (Regarding the Fountain, 43 Old Cemetery Road series). In their trademark style bursting with humor and wordplay complemented by illustrations, documents, and graphics, The Show Must Go On! introduces a cast of talking animals in the friendliest and funniest family circus in the world.

    For information about author/illustrator school and library visits, click here.

    Category: Children • Ages 7-10 • Grades 2-5

    MORE INFO